Teacher of the Year

2018-19 Teacher of the Year Announced
Posted on 06/17/2019
Teacher of the year


We are proud to recognize Mrs. Jan Levenseller as the 2018-19 University Place School District Teacher of the Year.  Jan has been an outstanding teacher of mathematics at Curtis High School for 25 years.  She is an exceptional instructor and a teacher-leader.  Mrs. Levenseller's tremendous efforts over many years have benefited thousands of students and dozens of her colleagues. 

Jan is a graduate of Eastern Washington University and began her teaching career in 1984. After teaching in Spokane, Washington and Clover Park School District, Jan joined the UPSD team in 1993.  She has been a teacher, coach and leader at Curtis High School since that time.  Mrs. Levenseller teaches a wide range of mathematics classes to all grade levels including Geometry, second year Algebra and Advanced Placement Statistics.  Her excellence in teaching is noted in observations of practice and in measurable results for kids. For example, this year's AP Statistics students passed the AP exam at a rate above 90%.  This is well above the national average pass rate of 60%.  Mrs. Levenseller's students learn math at high levels while under her care and direction.

Mrs. Levenseller also models what it means to be a "life long learner". Jan regularly attends professional growth opportunities and engages in curriculum development work with her colleagues. She has also been an active participant and strong leader in teacher collaboration work at Curtis since this work began.

Outside the classroom, Jan works to support students at all math ability levels.  She spends time after school to provide extra help for students who struggle and also works to create additional opportunities for our most talented math students.  Mrs. Levenseller has coached the Curtis High School Math Team to multiple top-ten finishes and championships at the state level over the last decade.

Jan Levenseller is an exceptional educator.  We are very pleased to recognize her as our 2018-19 Teacher of the Year.